As of March 15, 2021, the Iraqi government launched an exceptional program to support the movement of investment and work in Iraq by raising the requirement to obtain an entry visa before arriving in Iraq for citizens of:


  • The permanent members of the UN Security Council, namely the United States of America, the United Kingdom, France, Russia and China;
  • European Union countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.
  • In addition, citizens of Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Canada, Australia and Switzerland.


According to the program, citizens of these countries will be allowed to enter Iraq through air, land and seaports, obtain entry visas at airports and border crossings, in exchange for paying the fees prescribed by the Iraqi Ministry of Interior, and subject to all Iraqi preventive health measures by the Supreme Committee for National Health and Safety.

Other countries will be added to this list according to the requirements of Iraq.


Attached formal circular issued in this regard.

Visa on Entry Direction – Arabic

Granting entry visas to foreigners

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are fine with it.